team profile

Danielle Herrmann

Rechtsanwältin, Partner

P  +49 69 945 195 300
F  +49 69 945 195 399
E   danielle.herrmann@neuland.legal

Danielle Herrmann focuses on regulated markets, in particular the TMT sector. She has more than ten years of expericence in advising major German and international companies on complex legal issues in telecommunications and media law, administrative and European law and data protection/privacy laws. She is also intensively engaged in the field of the internet of things, M2M communication and connectivity, such as connected cars.

Danielle represents clients in administrative and court proceedings, in contract negotiations, and in M&A projects. She supports stand-alone matters as well as large international projects with competent legal advice. Danielle also has broad experience with cross-border matters and cooperations with other law firms around the world.

Her recent highlight matters include advising

  • an international telecommunications operator on numerous regulatory and commercial matters regarding mobile and fixed-line telephony as well as broadband, including representation before German and European courts;
  • a leading German car manufacturer on connected cars in more than 27 countries, in particular regarding regulatory requirements in the fields of telecommunication und IT security, data protection and contracts with mobile operators;
  • a leading provider of VoIP services and online meetings on regulatory requirements and data protection in several countries around the world; and
  • strategic and financial investors on numerous M&A projects in the telecommunications, media and IT sectors.

Until Neuland legal was founded in early 2017, Danielle worked as an attorney at the international law firm Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP in Frankfurt, Düsseldorf, and London from 2006 to 2016. She became Counsel in 2013. Prior to that, Danielle studied German literature, economics, and law at the Goethe University Frankfurt, where she worked as research assistant and lecturer in public law and European law for several years. Stages of her legal traineeship (Referendariat) were at the Administrative Court in Frankfurt and the German Embassy in Lomé, Togo, amongst others. Danielle advises in German and English language. She regularly publishes on telecommunications law and digital economy topics.

team profile

Dr. Stefan Heilmann

Rechtsanwalt, Partner

P  +49 69 945 195 300
F  +49 69 945 195 399
E   stefan.heilmann@neuland.legal

Dr Stefan Heilmann’s practice focuses on regulatory issues especially in the media and telecommunications sectors. He also has extensive expertise in the fields of data protection and IT law. Finally, an emphasis of his work is on the setup and implementation of high-profile compliance investigations and related data analytics tasks.

His recent highlight matters include advising

  • several over-the-top communications service providers in conducting data protection and telecommunications law analyses for Germany and numerous other jurisdictions worldwide
  • an international telecommunications provider regarding, in particular, frequency allocation issues as well as access and fee regulation
  • a broadcasting transmission provider with regard to issues of access and fee regulation
  • major corporations in, inter alia, the financial, sports, and automotive sector, in the course of complex internal investigations, in ensuring data protection compliance and efficient review and data workflows
  • various strategic and private equity investors on the regulatory, media, IT, and data protection law questions of M&A transactions with targets such as internet hosting service providers, cable network operators, video-on-demand providers, and debt collection agencies

The basis for Stefan’s specialisation in information and communications law was already laid during his legal studies at Bucerius Law School in Hamburg and at the Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand. He broadened and strengthened his expertise during his years as a researcher at the Hans Bredow Institute for Media Research in Hamburg. In parallel and during his legal traineeship in Hamburg, Kiel, Sydney, and Kuala Lumpur, Stefan acted as a speaker in numerous workshops and conferences worldwide. In addition to his doctoral thesis on „Anonymity for user-generated content?“, he regularly publishes on issues of data protection, telecommunications, and media law.

Starting in 2012, Stefan worked as an attorney for the international law firm Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP in the Corporate/M&A practice group in Hamburg and until his joining of Neuland legal in May 2017 in the IP/IT team in Frankfurt/Main. Stefan advises in German and English language.

team profile

Dr. Christoffer Bortz

Rechtsanwalt, Partner

P  +49 69 945 195 300
F  +49 69 945 195 399
E   christoffer.bortz@neuland.legal

Dr. Christoffer Bortz is specialised in contract drafting and negotiation for digital business models and commercial contracts in general. He advises big and medium-sized companies in all phases of implementing digital change. Due to his experience in advising IT, telecommunications, and internet companies as well as companies in the financial, general industry, and services sectors, his advice is not only based on legal expertise, but also on operational and technical know how.

Futhermore, Christoffer advises his German and international clients in complex legal issues of IT and IP law as well as data protection and privacy law and contributes respective know-how to national and cross-border M&A transactions.

His highlight matters include advising

  • a well-known German manufacturer of sports equipment on drafting and negotiating contracts for the re-launch of its webshop as well as for the implementation of a worldwide supplier platform;
  • the operator of a popular German bonus program on the implementation of a mobile payment platform;
  • a leading German car manufacturer on contracts with mobile operators for connected cars;
  • a traditional German ship manufacturer on the implementation of SAP software; and
  • strategic and financial investors on several M&A transactions with a focus on issues of IP, IT and data protection law as well as commercial contracts and carve out related topics.

Before co-founding Neuland legal beginning of 2017, Christoffer worked at the international law firm Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP in Frankfurt am Main and New York starting in 2011. Since 2013 he worked there as an attorney. Before that, Christoffer studied law at the Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz as well as economics at the distance university of Hagen. In 2012 he obtained his doctorate in law with a thesis on copyright licenses in national and international insolvency. Christoffer advises in German and English language.

team profile

Danielle Herrmann

Rechtsanwältin, Partnerin

T  +49 69 945 195 300
F  +49 69 945 195 399
E   danielle.herrmann@neuland.legal

Im Fokus der Beratungstätigkeit von Danielle Herrmann stehen regulierte Märkte, insbesondere der TMT-Sektor. Sie verfügt über mehr als zehn Jahre Erfahrung in der Beratung großer deutscher und internationaler Unternehmen zu komplexen Rechtsfragen im Telekommunikations- und Medienrecht, Verwaltungs- und Europarecht und Datenschutzrecht. Zudem befasst sie sich intensiv mit dem Internet der Dinge, M2M-Kommunikation und Konnektivität, wie etwa vernetzten Fahrzeugen.

Danielle Herrmann steht Mandanten in Verwaltungs- und Gerichtsverfahren, bei der Vertragsgestaltung und in M&A-Projekten zur Seite und begleitet Einzelthemen ebenso wie große internationale Projekte mit kompetentem Rechtsrat. Sie hat breite Erfahrung auch mit grenzüberschreitenden Sachverhalten und Kooperationen mit anderen Kanzleien im In- und Ausland.

Zu ihren Referenzmandaten der letzten Zeit zählen die Beratung

  • eines internationalen Telekommunikationsanbieters zu zahlreichen regulatorischen und kommerziellen Themen in den Bereichen Mobilfunk, Festnetz und Breitband, einschließlich der Vertretung vor deutschen und europäischen Gerichten,
  • eines führenden deutschen Automobilherstellers zu vernetzten Fahrzeugen in über 27 Ländern, insbes. zu regulatorischen Anforderungen in den Bereichen Telekommunikation und IT-Sicherheit, Datenschutz sowie Verträgen mit Mobilfunkanbietern,
  • eines führenden Anbieters von VoIP-Diensten und Online-Meetings zu regulatorischen und datenschutzrechtlichen Anforderungen in mehreren Ländern weltweit und
  • von strategischen und Finanzinvestoren bei zahlreichen M&A-Projekten im Telekommunikations-, Medien- und IT-Sektor.

Bis zur Gründung von Neuland legal Anfang 2017 war Danielle Herrmann ab 2006 als Rechtsanwältin bei der internationalen Wirtschaftskanzlei Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP in Frankfurt, Düsseldorf und London tätig, seit 2013 als Counsel. Zuvor studierte sie Germanistik, Volkswirtschaftslehre und Rechtswissenschaft an der Universität Frankfurt am Main, wo sie mehrere Jahre als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin und Lehrbeauftragte für Öffentliches Recht und Europarecht tätig war. Als Referendarin war sie u.a. am Verwaltungsgericht Frankfurt am Main und an der Deutschen Botschaft Lomé in Togo tätig. Danielle Herrmann berät in deutscher und englischer Sprache. Sie publiziert regelmäßig zum Telekommunikationsrecht und Themen der digitalen Wirtschaft.

team profile

Dr. Stefan Heilmann

Rechtsanwalt, Partner

T  +49 69 945 195 300
F  +49 69 945 195 399
E   stefan.heilmann@neuland.legal

Dr. Stefan Heilmann berät vornehmlich zu regulatorischen Fragestellungen in den Bereichen Telekommunikation und Medien. Über umfangreiche Erfahrung verfügt er zudem in Datenschutz- und IT-Rechtsfragen. Schließlich bilden die Organisation und technische Umsetzung großformatiger Compliance-Untersuchungen, einschließlich damit verbundener Data Analytics, Schwerpunkte seiner Tätigkeit.

Referenzmandate der jüngeren Vergangenheit waren

  • die Prüfung der Reichweite datenschutz- und telekommunikationsrechtlicher Verpflichtungen für mehrere Over-the-top-Kommunikationsdienstanbieter in Deutschland und zahlreichen weiteren Jurisdiktionen weltweit
  • die Beratung eines internationalen Telekommunikationsanbieters insbesondere im Bereich der Frequenzverwaltung sowie der Zugangs- und Entgeltregulierung
  • die Beratung eines Rundfunkübertragungsdienstleisters in Fragen der Entgelt- und Zugangsregulierung
  • die Sicherstellung von Datenschutzrechtskonformität sowie effizienter Review- und Daten-Workflows bei komplexen internen Untersuchungen für Mandanten unter anderem aus dem Finanz-, Sport- und Automobilsektor
  • die regulatorische, medien-, IT- und datenschutzrechtliche Begleitung zahlreicher weiterer M&A-Transaktionen, unter anderem mit Internet-Hosting-Anbietern, Kabelnetzbetreibern, Video-on-demand-Anbietern und Inkassodienstleistern als Zielgesellschaften

Dr. Stefan Heilmann hat sich bereits während seines Studiums an der Bucerius Law School in Hamburg und der Victoria University of Wellington, Neuseeland, gezielt auf das Informations- und Kommunikationsrecht spezialisiert. Vertiefen konnte er diese Fokussierung während seiner langjährigen Tätigkeit am Hans-Bredow-Institut für Medienforschung an der Universität Hamburg. Parallel hierzu und während seines Referendariats in Hamburg, Kiel, Sydney und Kuala Lumpur begann Dr. Stefan Heilmann seine umfangreiche internationale Vortrags- und Publikationstätigkeit zu zahlreichen Fragen des Informations- und Kommunikationsrechts. Er wurde zudem mit einer Dissertation zum Thema „Anonymität für User-Generated Content?“ von der Universität Hamburg promoviert.

Ab dem Jahr 2012 arbeitete Dr. Stefan Heilmann als Rechtsanwalt für die internationale Wirtschaftskanzlei Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP in Hamburg im Corporate/M&A und bis zu seinem Beitritt zu Neuland legal im Mai 2017 im IP/IT-Team in Frankfurt am Main. Dr. Stefan Heilmann berät in deutscher und englischer Sprache.

team profile

Dr. Christoffer Bortz

Rechtsanwalt, Partner

T  +49 69 945 195 300
F  +49 69 945 195 399
E   christoffer.bortz@neuland.legal

Dr. Christoffer Bortz ist spezialisiert auf Vertragsgestaltung für digitale Geschäftsmodelle und kommerzielle Verträge im Allgemeinen. Er begleitet große und mittelständische Unternehmen in allen Phasen der Implementierung digitalen Wandels. Durch seine Erfahrung in der Beratung von Unternehmen der IT-, Telekommunikations- und Internetbranche sowie des Finanz-, Industrie- und Dienstleistungssektors kann er dabei über seine juristische Expertise hinaus auch operative und technische Kenntnisse in seine Beratung einfließen lassen.

Dr. Christoffer Bortz berät seine nationalen und internationalen Mandanten zudem zu komplexen Fragen des IT- und IP-Rechts sowie des Datenschutzrechts und bringt ensprechendes Know-How in deutsche und grenzüberschreitende M&A-Transaktionen ein.

Zu seinen Referenzmandaten zählen unter anderem die Beratung

  • eines großen deutschen Sportartikelherstellers bei der vertraglichen Neuaufstellung seines Webshops sowie bei der weltweiten Einführung einer Lieferantenplattform
  • eines bekannten deutschen Bonusprogrammbetreibers bei der Einführung einer mobilen Zahlungsfunktion
  • eines führenden deutschen Automobilherstellers zu Verträgen mit Mobilfunkanbietern für vernetzte Fahrzeuge
  • eines traditionsreichen deutschen Schiffsbauunternehmens bei der Einführung von SAP-Software
  • von strategischen und Finanzinvestoren bei zahlreichen M&A-Transaktionen mit besonderem Fokus auf Fragen des IP-, IT- und Datenschutzrechts sowie zu kommerziellen Verträgen und Carve-out-Themen

Vor der Gründung von Neuland legal Anfang 2017 war Dr. Christoffer Bortz seit 2011 für die internationale Wirtschaftskanzlei Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP in Frankfurt am Main und New York tätig, seit 2013 als Rechtsanwalt. Davor studierte er Rechtswissenschaften an der Universität Mainz und Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der Fernuniversität Hagen. Im Jahr 2012 wurde er von der Universität Mainz mit einer Arbeit zum Thema „Urheberrechtliche Lizenzen in der nationalen und internationalen Insolvenz“ promoviert. Dr. Christoffer Bortz berät in den Sprachen deutsch und englisch.